My Shoes

Long Beach Boardwalk new

.

My Shoes

.

I have worn many shoes in my lifetime

Consider that I am a man

I can write this on a single page

A woman would need a book to list all of hers!

.

At first I was barefoot…

Little baby shoes

Sometimes people would bronze that first pair

Later, they end up in a closet

.

Sneakers

Remember that word?

Showing my age with that word

Every kid had a pair of sneakers

.

New shoes for school

Annual pair every September

Hopefully, there was money to get a new pair

If not, you wore your sneakers

.

Dress shoes

Depends on your background

We weren’t church members

A luxury we did without

.

Gym shoes

I don’t remember what year these were renamed

Canvas sneakers replaced by nylon ones

The new name came at a higher price

Maybe when they started getting striped or swooshed

.

Work boots

Sears Die Hard brand

Lifetime guarantee on these

Had a free pair every six months!

.

Cowboy boots

As a young musician, these were a must have

A pair of jeans with boots was cool

After all, The Allman Brothers wore them!

.

Platform shoes

Thick soles and big heels

Any colour you like

As long as it’s black

.

Running shoes

Scientifically researched for a new era

You paid twice as much money

Your feet still hurt

.

Shiny black dress shoes

These were for business

I once went on interviews with a hole in a sole

That is known as a broke job seeker

.

Basketball shoes… aka Tennis shoes

A comfortable alternative to running shoes

Cost less and lasted longer

Real men bought white ones

.

Waterproof snow boots

Yes they kept the cold snow out

Your feet were still soaking wet

The plastic coating made your feet sweat

.

What else……….

I moved to a warmer climate

Left behind the winter boots

This called for some new shoes

.

Boat shoes

Wonderful little shoes

Socks not required

Wear them until they curl up and die

.

Slippers

I nearly forgot

Probably because they are used near bedtime

Moccasins, Operas, Slip-Ons

In a warm state, you see these worn at Wal-Mart

.

Sandals

The best pair ever

Slip them on, no laces and the best comfort!

I love wearing sandals 🙂

I wear sandals everyday now…

.

What makes sandals the best shoe ever?

Why should everyone want a daily pair?

One word will speak volumes….

Retirement!

.

Author: William J. Hudson

Long Beach, New York: from Google Images

One thought on “My Shoes

  1. When there wasn’t enough money I wore either my sisters pretty shoes, or my brothers tennies. Guess which were my favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

